England calling.

Who are you and what do you ride? Show us your bike!
Alb1on

England calling.

Post by Alb1on »

Good Day, Just to let you know my name is Cathy and I'll be starting up the 'England' section of the ROMEOS over here later in the year so I thought I'd better let you know something about me. I have been riding since 1974, first a Velosolex 5000 which was a 50cc French pop-pop that folded up for travelling, (not whilst riding), and was a lot of fun if underpowered. It was unhappy on steep hills and motorways were out of the question but it was fine for commuting. After that I realised I needed training which was voluntary then so took a three-month training session at the RAC/ACU centre at Crystal Palace in south-east London in 1978 where I met my husband Jon Taylor. (http://www.jon-taylor.com). He was horrified by my bike and built me a CB200 Honda from two wrecked insurance write-offs, one with a damaged front and one with a damaged rear, which I used to pass my test in 1980. Then I fell in love with a Kawasaki Z750E on which I passed my advanced motorcycle test in 1981. Now I was hooked on Kawasakis so bought a Z1100A, which was heavily discounted as everyone wanted the GPZ1100, and that went to the Isle of Man, and on the Krauser Rallye, which covered Germany, Austria, Italy and Switzerland, as it was a very comfortable touring bike. I bought another one of those, together with a KE175, an XT550 and a CBX550 as I was by then a motorcycle instructor and swapping between all these machines made life interesting. Someone assured me that BMWs were the way to go so I had a K75 triple but it was a short romance and I regressed to a GT550 then a Honda Revere which I had from 1988-2008 and when I retired so did it, so I was relegated to my Yamaha XT225 which is ok around town but does not have much puff anywhere else. For my 60th birthday in 2007 I decided on a T100 865 Triumph, which was quite a jump from Japanese machinery. At least they don't leak now a